Javascript Menu by

Log in | Create Account
Home /
An Orthodox Catechism
Fr. Josiah

An Orthodox Catechism is a two part series developed by Fr. Josiah to provide a broad introduction to Orthodox Christianity. The sixteen lectures in this series have been utilized in parish practice over the course of almost two decades to prepare more than 300 catechumens for reception into the Orthodox Church as well as enrich Orthodox individuals who wished to learn more about the basic tenets of their faith.   

Not having an official Orthodox Catechism in the English language, many parishes and pastors scramble to put together a basic catechism that will adequately expose the inquirer and catechumen to the contours of Orthodox faith and life.  It is hoped that this series will aid priests and parishes in preparing catechumens to be received into the Church, as well as edify Orthodox individuals seeking a better understanding of their faith. 

For those seeking to become Orthodox, Catechism is a process of full-orbed Christian formation in which the Orthodox Christian life is inculcated in the learner through participation in divine services, prayer, study, community assimilation, and practice. At the heart of the catechetical process are the catechetical lectures delivered to the catechumens by the priest or the catechist.  It is toward this goal of providing a usable introduction to Holy Orthodoxy that the sixteen lectures entitled An Orthodox Catechism have been developed by Fr. Josiah.

These sixteen lectures are presented to catechumens in two parts. Part One: God, Man, Church are eight lectures traditionally delivered during the Nativity Fast. Part Two: The Holy Mysteries are eight lectures delivered during the Great Lent as catechumens are being prepared for reception into the Church on Great and Holy Saturday. 

Lectures included in Part One: God, Man, Church:

  1. The True God (free download below)
  2. The Human Being
  3. Sin
  4. Jesus Christ, the Son of God
  5. Jesus Christ, the Savior of the World
  6. Repentence and Faith
  7. The Holy Spirit
  8. The Church and the Mother of God

Lectures included in Part Two: The Holy Mysteries:

  1. The Mystery of Holy Baptism (free download below)
  2. The Mystery of Holy Chrismation
  3. The Mystery of the Holy Eucharist
  4. The Mystery of Holy Confession
  5. The Mystery of the Holy Priesthood
  6. The Mystery of Holy Matrimony
  7. The Mystery of Holy Unction
  8. The Mystery of Death & the Funeral

Purchase Part One and Part Two together for $35

Purchase Part One or Part Two individually for $25 each

All Lectures - both Part 1 and Part 2: $35.00
All Lectures - Part 1 only: $25.00
Part 1 / Lecture 1: The True God: $0.00
Part 1 / Lecture 2: The Human Being: $3.00
Part 1 / Lecture 3: Sin: $3.00
Part 1 / Lecture 4: Jesus Christ, the Son of God: $3.00
Part 1 / Lecture 5: Jesus Christ, the Savior of the World: $3.00
Part 1 / Lecture 6: Repentence and Faith: $3.00
Part 1 / Lecture 7: The Holy Spirit: $3.00
Part 1 / Lecture 8: The Church and the Mother of God: $3.00
All Lectures - Part 2 only: $25.00
Part 2 / Lecture 1: The Mystery of Holy Baptism: $0.00
Part 2 / Lecture 2: The Mystery of Holy Chrismation: $3.00
Part 2 / Lecture 3: The Mystery of the Holy Eucharist: $3.00
Part 2 / Lecture 4: The Mystery of Holy Confession: $3.00
Part 2 / Lecture 5: The Mystery of the Holy Priesthood: $3.00
Part 2 / Lecture 6: The Mystery of Holy Matrimony: $3.00
Part 2 / Lecture 7: The Mystery of Holy Unction: $3.00
Part 2 / Lecture 8: The Mystery of Death & the Funeral: $3.00

< PreviousNext >
You might also like: